As reported, the afternoon program organized by the district’s local heritage department to mark the 2018 european heritage day in steinbach am wald met with a gratifyingly positive response. The nationwide motto of the day: "discovering what connects us" was reinforced on site by the famous line from victor von scheffel’s rennsteig poem (1863): "what separates people must also unite them".
Accordingly, district administrator klaus loffler described the rennsteig as the epitome of everything "that allows us to overcome divisions". And he emphasized: "we can be truly grateful for the fact that we experience the diversity of cultural pragmas in our francish-thuringian home region as a great enrichment, and that we are always happy to discover in this diversity what unites us."
The excursion, which was expertly guided by district local historian siegfried scheidig and started at the fortified church of st. The construction of the church by st. John baptist also led to the erection of two distinctive statues on the ridge: the stone obelisk at the watershed and the bridge stones at the railroad bridge. Siegfried scheidig vividly explained the elements that separate north and south: the mountain ridge, the water and weather divide, but also the historical border between gau, bishopric, dominion, confession, culture and dialect. Scheidig juxtaposed these geographic and historical conditions with elements of political, cultural reform, transportation, and last but not least, interpersonal elements that united the two communities and demanded that they grow together. For example, he described the technical development of the railroad that crossed the mountain ridge. A deep cut for the railroad line had been made into this – only by human hand and without the use of machines. Scheidig also used historical photos to illustrate the development of settlements in this area of the rennsteig.
The catholic st.-heinrich church was presented by district curator of local history robert wachter as a connecting element between the district of bahnhof and the old town center of steinbach. The design of the church, which was consecrated in 1966, clearly shows the influence of the second vatican council, which was concluded the previous year.
It speaks for the progressiveness of the people of steinbach that they had chosen the most modern of the submitted plans at the time, wachter remarked. The commissioned team with the bamberger architect hans-karl volker and the forchheim-born artist henry walz had been in great demand in the 1960s. Robert wachter explained the extent to which the heinrichskirche, with its "completely different formal language of a new expressionism," was a "new expressionist" church deviated from the sacral architecture that had been common until then.
Wachter referred in particular to the "pieta on the barbed wire" and thus to a sacral work of art that addresses the now overcome division of germany in an unusual way.
Reverend claudia gruning-goll introduced the steinbach christuskirche and called it a special feature that the house of worship, the sacristy and the parish house were all built in one pour. The church, designed by architect reinhard claaben in a classical architectural style, was consecrated in 1953. As the pastor further informed, a barrier-free access to the church will also be created in the course of the current renovation. Gruning-goll paid particular attention to the central work of art on the altar wall, which was created by the renowned artist reinhart fuchs in 1976: a square and colorful cross with suggested wounds, combined with a depiction of the emmaus youth with the risen christ at the last supper. Bg